Alaska DUI Laws
Drunk driving, or driving under the influence of drugs, is a serious offense in Alaska, as in most other states. Conviction on DUI charges can lead to steep fines, license suspension, and even prison time in the most egregious cases. In fact, the average cost of a DUI is $24,265, according to the Alaska DMV. The following information will provide the basics on Alaska DUI law, penalties, and links to additional sources.
Alaska DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.00 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Alaska DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||90 days, 1 year, 3 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes (2nd Offense)|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes (mandatory for all convictions)|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
IID Mandatory for All Alaska DUI Convictions
Alaska law now requires anyone convicted of a DUI to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on their vehicle after the license suspension period has ended. An IID requires the driver to submit a breath test into the device (similar to a Breathalyzer machine) before it will allow the vehicle to start. Most of these devices also require follow-up breath tests to ensure compliance and to deter from having another person submit a breath test for the driver.
If you are ordered to have an IID installed on your vehicle, you will have a "C" restriction placed on your driver's license, with the words "IID Required" on the back of your license. Those who live in particularly remote areas of the state may be exempted from the IID requirement; otherwise, you will want to find an approved IID installer near you.
Not everyone is eligible for a limited license, which authorizes the use of an IID, including those:
- With a felony conviction for DUI or refusal
- Convicted of a DUI or refusal while on probation for a prior DUI or refusal conviction
- Convicted of violating the terms of a limited license
Alaska DUI Resources
- Alaska DUI Statutes: Operating a Vehicle While Under the Influence (Alaska Stat. 28.35.030).
- Alaska DUI Consequences - Answers to frequently asked questions about DUI offenses in Alaska (Alaska DMV).
- Alaska DUI Definitions - Definitions of terms associated with Alaska DUI laws (PDF, Alaska State Troopers).
- Alaska Driver's License Reinstatement - How to reinstate your driver's license after a suspension (Alaska DMV).
Get Legal Help for Your Alaska DUI Case
Convictions for driving under the influence have serious consequences in Alaska, including lengthy prison sentences for subsequent or particularly serious offenses. Since so much is at stake, it's typically a good idea to get the advice and counsel of a DUI attorney before appearing in court. If you're interested in learning more about your case and your options under the law, you can get in touch with an Alaska DUI attorney near you today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.