Arkansas DWI Laws
Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other impairing drugs is not only dangerous to the driver, passengers, and others in the vicinity, but can result in serious criminal charges. If you are charged with a DWI (driving while intoxicated) in Arkansas, you most likely will spend at least 24 hours in jail and up to six years for the most serious offenses (or if you are a repeat offender). And while the fines and penalties associated with a DWI conviction range from $150 to $5,000, legal fees and missed work can add up to much more than that.
Understanding the law will help you avoid costly mistakes behind the wheel of your car, truck, or motorcycle. But if you have been charged with a DWI in Arkansas, knowing your legal options is key. The basics of Arkansas DWI law are listed below.
Arkansas DWI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
to Submit to BAC Test?
Arkansas DWI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation
(1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)
|6 months, 2 years, 30 months|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Yes (4th offense)|
|Ignition Interlock Device
|Yes (mandatory for all convictions)|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Arkansas Implied Consent Law
If you are a licensed motorist in Arkansas, you have (by default) consented to a search of your breath, urine, or other bodily fluid for the purpose of determining possible impairment. So if you refuse to comply when an Arkansas officer asks you to blow into a BAC testing device (commonly called a "Breathalyzer"), you will lose your driving privileges for at least 180 days, regardless of whether you were actually intoxicated.
Arkansas DWI Resources
- Driver's License Reinstatement - How to reinstate your driver's license after a suspension (Ark. Dept. of Finance and Administration).
- Arkansas Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws - Comprehensive guide book covering the traffic laws of Arkansas, including detailed information about the state's DWI regulations.
- Arkansas Commercial Driver Alcohol and Drug Testing Database - Database of commercial driver's license (CDL) holders and their status with respect to drug and alcohol testing.
- Driver Control - Information about driver's license suspension, the point system, DWI records, and more.
- Types of DUI - Collection of articles outlining the various types of drunk driving (DWI in Arkansas) charges available in most states.
Get Professional Help From an Arkansas DWI Attorney
If you're facing a DWI charge in Arkansas, you should know that you could be hit with serious fines, license suspension, and even jail time for the worst offenses. However, you may have a solid legal defense to the charges, and it makes sense to consult with an attorney before stepping foot in the court room. A good next step is to contact an Arkansas DWI attorney near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.