California Bans Cell Phone Use by Teen Drivers
California drivers under the age of 18 will be prohibited from driving while using cell phones and other electronic devices, under a law signed Thursday by California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. Teens who violate the law would face a $20 fine for a first-time offense, and a $50 fine for any repeat violation of the law. A Press Release from the Office of the California Governor declares that California is joining fifteen states and the District of Columbia, which have also enacted laws "restricting the use of wireless communication devices by new and inexperienced drivers." The new law, which goes into effect on July 1, 2008, applies to all electronic devices, whether "hands-free" or hand-held. Also on July 1, a law prohibiting hand-held cell phone use by all drivers will go into effect. Both laws carry exceptions for emergencies.
- Press Release from the Office of the California Governor
- San Jose Mercury News: Cell Phone Law Signed With Teens in Mind
- Study on Driver Cell Phone Use in 2005 (NHTSA) [PDF file]
- Traffic Violations (FindLaw)
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.