New California Law Bans Texting While Driving
Beginning on January 1, Californians who type or read text messages while driving will face a traffic ticket and fine, under a law signed Wednesday by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.
California State Bill 28 "specifically bans the use of an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication while driving a motor vehicle." Drivers who violate the law will face a "base fine of $20 for a first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense," according to a Press Release from the Office of the California Governor. The San Francisco Chronicle reports that California now joins Connecticut, Lousiana, Minnesota, New Jersey, and Washington as states that have banned texting while driving. As of July 1 2008, California drivers have been required to use a hands-free device to talk on the phone while operating a vehicle, and drivers under the age of 18 have been prohibited from any non-emergency use of an electronic device while driving. (See State-by-State Laws on Driving and Cell Phones/Text Messaging, from the Governors Highway Safety Association)
- Press Release on Text Messaging Law (Office of the California Governor)
- San Francisco Chronicle: California Bans Text Messaging While Driving
- Sacramento Bee: Texting While Driving Banned
- New California Cell Phone Laws Take Effect 7/1 (FindLaw's Common Law Blog 6/24/2008)
- Under the Influence: Driving While Phoning (FindLaw)
- State-by-State Laws: Driving and Cell Phones/Text Messaging (Governors Highway Safety Association)
- Traffic Tickets Center (FindLaw)
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.