New York Wage and Hour Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed April 16, 2019
Wage and hour laws govern wage disputes and other claims that arise in the workplace setting. The laws establish basic requirements and standards, including for minimum wage and overtime pay.
New York Wage and Hour Laws at a Glance
Reading the complete text of a statute can be a good way to familiarize yourself with the law, but you can also refer to a plain language version of the content to gain more understanding. See the chart below for a simple summary of New York's wage and hour laws.
New York Consolidated Laws, Labor Law:
The current minimum wage varies depending on the size of the employer and location where the employees work. To find out the minimum wage in your area, you can use the New York Labor Department's minimum wage calculator.
New York City:
Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester counties: $12.00
The remainder of the state: $11.10
Overtime is based on the hours worked in any given payroll week. Typically, if you work more than 40 hours during the pay week, and you're not "exempt", then you must be paid the overtime rate for all hours over 40. The overtime rules depend on whether you're an employee, a covered employee, or a residential employee.
New York doesn't require private employers to provide employees with either paid or unpaid holiday leave. A private employer can require an employee to work holidays.
An employer isn't required to provide employees with vacation benefits, either paid or unpaid.
Employers aren't required to provide employees with sick leave benefits, either paid or unpaid. If the employer chooses to provide benefits, they must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Meal Break Times
New York law doesn't require an employer to provide severance pay to a terminated employee; an employer is only obligated to provide severance if this was contracted or promised. Although it isn't mandated, many New York companies do provide severance pay.
Failure to pay minimum wage or overtime compensation:
Failure to keep records:
Failure to pay severance pay: This is a misdemeanor if an employer doesn't pay severance when there is a commitment to do so. The employer may be required to pay attorney fees and damages in addition to the severance pay if the employee can show that the nonpayment is willful.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
New York Wage and Hour Laws: Related Resources
Learn More About New York Wage and Hour Laws From an Attorney
If you're an employee who's concerned about not getting paid what you're owed, then you should talk to a legal professional as soon as possible. Contact an experienced local attorney who understands New York wage and hour laws and can give you valuable legal insight.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.