Arkansas Compulsory Education Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
All states require children of a certain age range to attend school on a regular basis, with the understanding that an educated populace is more likely to contribute to the state's economy and general well-being. The type of school is up to the parents and may include private, religious, or home school options instead of public school. State compulsory education laws usually hold parents or guardians responsible for a child's school attendance, and may prosecute parents for noncompliance (but only after administrative efforts to correct the problem fail). Parents who choose to home school their children must comply with roughly the same curriculum and other standards that apply to public education.
Arkansas Compulsory Education Law at a Glance
The state of Arkansas requires children between the ages of five and 17 to attend school, with the following exceptions:
- Child received high school diploma early (before reaching age 17)
- Parent has elected to withhold child from kindergarten
- Child is at least 16 an enrolled in college, vocational school, or some other qualifying adult education program
Each day a parent fails to comply with Arkansas law is considered a separate misdemeanor offense, subject to a fine of up to $100.
Learn more about compulsory education law in Arkansas, including exemptions, in the following chart.
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required
|Between 5 and 17
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements
|Child has received a high school diploma; parent may elect to withhold child from kindergarten; any child over 16 enrolled in post-secondary vocational institution or college or specific adult education programs upon certain conditions
|Home School Provisions
|Parents must give written notice of intent to home school; with curriculum, schedules, and qualifications of teacher presented to superintendent for each semester; child must submit to standardized achievement tests annually and at 8, if test results are unsatisfactory, child shall be enrolled in a public, private, or parochial school (§6-15-501 et. seq.)
|Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
|Misdemeanor; each day is separate offense and fine of $25 to $100
Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time, usually when newly passed legislation is enacted but sometimes through higher court decisions or other means. You may want to contact an Arkansas education attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Arkansas Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Arkansas Compulsory Education Law: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.