While in Arkansas you might catch a Razorbacks game with some friends. But what happens if you have a little too much to drink, get excited during the game, and you're charged with disorderly conduct while rooting for your favorite college football team? If you are charged with disorderly conduct, you may want to learn about the elements of the crime under Arkansas law. That way, you can determine whether what you've done is actually a crime and can properly defend yourself.
Disorderly conduct laws in Arkansas prohibit things such as fighting, making an excessive amount of noise, making an obscene gesture in public that is likely to provoke violence, disturbing a lawful assembly or meeting, obstructing traffic, congregating with others in a public place and refusing to leave, and exposing one's private parts in public.
In some states, penalties for disorderly conduct can be severe. In Arkansas, a conviction for disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and $500 fines.
Arkansas Disorderly Conduct Laws
The following table outlines the specifics of disorderly conduct laws in Arkansas.
||ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-71-207
Purposely inconveniencing, annoying, or alarming others or recklessly creating a risk of inconveniencing, annoying or alarming others by:
- Engaging in fighting or violent, tumultuous, or threatening behavior
- Making unreasonable or excessive noise
- Using abusive or obscene language or making an obscene gesture in public in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response
- Disturbing a lawful assembly or meeting of persons
- Obstructing vehicular or pedestrian traffic
- Congregating with 2 or more people in a public place and refusing to comply with reasonable requests or orders to disperse from law enforcement
- Creating a hazardous or physically offensive condition
- Marring, defiling, or damaging a patriotic or religious symbol that is an object of respect by the public (such as a flag or cross) in public
- Exposing one's private parts in public
Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Arkansas Disorderly Conduct Laws: Related Resources
Disorderly conduct laws can be confusing. If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct and would like legal assistance, you can contact an Arkansas criminal defense attorney. You can also visit FindLaw’s sections on Disorderly Conduct and Public Safety Violations for more articles and information on this topic.