Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Colorado Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

While we all dream of the perfect wedding day, we don’t often dream about the paperwork required to get married. But for your marriage to be legal, the Rocky Mountain State has a few marriage requirements you must meet in order to obtain an actual marriage license.

You can apply for a Colorado marriage license at any county court, and you must provide full names, ages, social security numbers, and places of birth and current residence for you, your soon-to-be spouse, and both sets of parents or guardians. If either of you were previously married and divorced, you must provide the date, location, and court that issued the divorce. Application fees are $30. For a full list of requirements, contact your local county clerk. This is a quick summary of marriage license requirements in Colorado.

Marriage License Requirements in Colorado

The following table outlines Colorado’s marriage license requirements.

Code Section

COL. REV. STAT. §14-2-101, et seq.

Where to Obtain a License

County Clerk's Offices

Age Requirements

18 years old, without parental consent;

16 years old, with parental or guardian consent.

Residency Requirement


Identification Requirements

Proof of name, sex, address, Social Security number, date, and place of birth of both parties;

Proof of marital status of both parties (if either party previously married, must provide date, place and court in which marriage was dissolved); and

Name and address of parents or guardian of both parties.

Same Sex Marriage


Blood Test Requirement



$30 Regular fee; or

$1.25 for each additional copy of marriage license.

How Long is the License Valid?

35 days

Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?

A judge of a court, a court magistrate, a retired judge of a court, a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, the parties to the marriage, or in accordance with any mode of solemnization recognized by any religious denomination or Indian nation or tribe.

Prior Marriage?

Must provide the date, place, type of court that issued dissolution or divorce.

Waiting Period


Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree

County Clerk of residence or the county in which the marriage will take place.

Colorado Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources

Applying for a marriage license can be complicated, and you want all your ducks in a row when you apply. If you would like legal assistance with a marriage matter, you can contact a Colorado family law attorney. You can also visit FindLaw’s Marriage Laws Overview, prenuptial agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs for more articles and information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options