While in Connecticut, you may wish to visit one of the state's many wineries. But what happens if you have a little too much to drink and you're charged with disorderly conduct? If you ever find yourself facing a disorderly conduct charge, you may first want to learn about the elements of the crime under Connecticut law. That way, you'll know whether what you've done is actually against the law.
Disorderly conduct laws in Connecticut prohibit things such as fighting, making an unreasonable amount of noise, disturbing a lawful assembly such as a graduation proceeding, obstructing traffic, or congregating with others in a public place and refusing to leave. In Connecticut, the law also prohibits "Peeping Toms" from trespassing on private property and watching people in the privacy of their own homes when they're not in plain view.
In some states, penalties for disorderly conduct can be severe, especially when the conduct occurs immediately before, after, or during a funeral procession. In Connecticut, disorderly conduct is a misdemeanor punishable by jail time and fines.
Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Laws
The following table outlines the specifics of disorderly conduct laws in Connecticut.
||CONN. GEN. STAT. § 53a-182
Intentionally inconveniencing, annoying, or alarming others or recklessly creating a risk of inconveniencing, annoying or alarming others by:
- Engaging in fighting or violent, tumultuous, or threatening behavior
- Annoying or interfering with another person through offensive or disorderly conduct
- Making unreasonable noise
- Disturbing a lawful assembly or meeting without authority
- Obstructing vehicular or pedestrian traffic
- Congregating with others in a public place and refusing to comply with reasonable requests or orders to disperse from law enforcement
- Committing trespass and purposely observing another person who is inside a dwelling, not in plain view, and has a reasonable expectation of privacy
Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 3 months in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Laws: Related Resources
Sometimes, it can be a fine line between a good time and disorderly conduct. Disorderly conduct laws can be confusing and depending upon your circumstances, it may be hard to tell if what you've done is against the law. If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct and would like legal assistance, you can contact a Connecticut criminal defense attorney. You can also visit FindLaw’s sections on Disorderly Conduct and Public Safety Violations for more articles and information on this topic.