Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Florida Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Ah, young love in the Sunshine State. We all remember our first crushes and early romances, but if your relationship is more serious, how young is too young to get married? In Florida, as with most states, the answer depends on whether or not your parents consent. So here is a brief overview of marriage age requirements in Florida.

State Marriage Age Laws

Each state has its own marriage laws and its own age requirements for marriage. However, many states, including Florida, allow individuals to marry before this age requirement if they obtain parental consent. Below, you'll find information on Florida marriage age requirements laws, including the minimum legal age with and without parental consent.

Marriage Age Requirements in Florida

Code Section

741.0405

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

17 (premarital course also required)

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

18

Comments

Minors under 17 are not permitted to marry.

Other Marriage Requirements in Florida

Along with being old enough, there are a few other marriage requirements under Florida law. In order to get a valid Florida marriage license, you will need a picture ID and either a social security card, passport, or I-94 card. If either you or your soon-to-be spouse has been married previously, you will need to provide the date of divorce or a copy of the divorce decree if it occurred in the past 30 days. While you don’t need to be a Florida resident to get married in the state, you will need to complete a 4-hour marriage prep course given by a court-approved provider. If you don’t take the course, there is a 3-day waiting period after you submit your application before you can get your marriage license. The filing fees for a marriage license are generally $93.50, although couples who complete the marriage preparation course may get a discount rate of $61.

Related Resources for Marriage Age Requirements Laws

State laws on marriage and seem confusing and overwhelming, especially with all of the other planning that goes into a wedding these days. You can find more introductory information in FindLaw’s marriage law section.

Learn More About Florida Marriage Age Requirements Laws from a Lawyer

Marriage age laws are intended to protect you from getting married without serious contemplation. If you're a minor who's engaged, then you should talk to a family law attorney in Florida who can help you with the legal issues concerning your impending marriage.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.

 

 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options