Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Illinois Marriage Age Requirements Laws

We’ve all had the thought growing up: when can I run off and get married? If your relationship is more serious than just a first crush, you may also be wondering how old you have to be to get married in Illinois. That answer generally depends on whether or not you have your parents’ permission to get married. State law governs, and this article can give you a brief summary of the marriage age requirements in Wisconsin.

State Marriage Age Laws

States laws impose age limits for marriage in most cases, particularly for minors without parental consent. These laws typically are intended to protect young people from exploitation. All states allow individuals to marry once they reach the age of majority, which is 18 in most of the country. Illinois marriage age requirements are set at 18 for couples without parental consent, and 16 for those with consent.

Marriage Age Requirements in Illinois

The main provisions of Illinois marriage age requirements are listed in the table below.

Code Section

750 ILCS 5/203, 5/208

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

Male: 16; Female: 16

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

Male: 18; Female: 18


If no parents to consent, judicial consent with finding that parties are capable of marriage. No provisions for marriage under age 16.

With everything else to worry about when it comes to planning a wedding, technical marriage requirements and getting the actual marriage license might seem pretty far down on the list. At the county clerk’s office you will need to fill out and sign a marriage license application and present identification, like a driver's license, passport, or birth certificate. If either you or your fiancé were divorced within the last six months, you will need a certified copy of the divorce decree. Marriage license fees can range from $30 to $60 depending on what county you are in and there is a 24-hour waiting period to get married.

Illinois Marriage Age Requirements Laws: Related Resources

Since you don’t want to throw a big wedding party and not be technically married, it makes sense to have all your ducks in a row when it comes to state laws on marriage. If you still have questions, you can also find more general information on this topic in FindLaw’s marriage law section. You can also contact an experienced family law attorney in Illinois if you would like legal assistance.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options