Iowa Child Support Guidelines
A child support order in Iowa is a court order that indicates the following:
- Which parent must pay for child support
- The payment amount
- How often the payment is to be made
- Who is to receive the payment
Typically, child support comes in the form of money paid by a parent who does not have physical custody of the child to the parent who does.
How to Request Child Support in Oklahoma
There are several ways a parent can request child support, but the majority of cases begin with an "Application for Nonassistance Support Services" which is submitted to the parent's local Iowa Child Support Recovery Unit. Child support is then calculated based upon a mathematical formula and a number of additional factors such as the income of the parents, who has physical custody of the child, and any special needs. Once the calculations are complete, a child support order is issued by a judge.
Iowa Child Support Guidelines
The following table outlines child support guidelines in Iowa.
|Who Is Responsible?||Both parents.|
|How Is Support Calculated?||
Calculated based upon a percentage of the combined gross income of both parents after deductions for things such as federal and state income taxes, mandatory pension plans, mandatory occupational license fees, union dues, legal obligations for child or spousal support which existed prior to the current case, medical support paid for another child, and child care expenses of the employed custodial parent (less any tax credits).
Deductions do not apply for things such as car payments, housing costs, credit union payments, charitable deductions, and voluntary plans such as savings plans.
Public assistance payments do not count towards a parent's income.
|What Is Included in a Support Order?||Child support covers food, shelter, clothing, care, medical or hospital(including medical support), confinement, education, funeral, and other reasonable and proper expenses based upon the parties' circumstances.|
|How Long Must a Parent Pay Child Support?||Until child turns 18 or 19 if the child still attends high school. (Child support continues indefinitely if the child cannot support themselves due to a physical or mental disability.)|
The parent may be charged with contempt and the court may require the posting of a cash bond. If child support arrearages are not paid within 3 months, the bond is forfeited to cover those payments as well as any future payments. The court may also order community service for up to 20 hours per week for 6 weeks, suspend the parent's license(s), or issue an order requiring the parent to look for work.
The court may seize money in bank accounts or federal and state tax refunds, garnish wages, or withhold income to help pay for child support arrearages.
The term "license" includes licenses issued to practice an occupation, operate a motor vehicle, or enjoy recreational activities such as hunting or fishing.
Iowa Child Support Guidelines: Related Resources
Figuring out child support guidelines can be difficult. If you would like legal assistance with a child support matter, you can contact an Iowa family law attorney. You can also visit FindLaw’s sections on Child Support, Child Support Modification, and Child Support Enforcement for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.