Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Iowa Indecent Exposure Laws

While an unclothed, morning stroll may seem like a refreshing way to start the day, walking around in the buff has a way of grabbing an abnormal amount of attention. To make things even worse, if the viewer of this breakfast surprise is someone other than the nudist's spouse, this attention can quickly lead to a handful of crimes.

Under Iowa indecent exposure laws, this genital exposure may not seem like a crime at first glance. However, the consequences of being convicted of this statute in the Hawkeye State may change your life for the next decade. This is a quick summary of the indecent exposure laws in Iowa.

Private Acts That Violate Iowa Indecent Exposure Laws

Although most people associate indecent exposure laws with public nudity, these laws can also be broken in the privacy of someone's home. Iowa indecent exposure laws prevents people from performing sex acts in front of third parties that the performers know are offensive to the viewer. A person convicted of this crime can be fined several hundred dollars, may spend time in prison, and must register as a sex offender.

The following table outlines the specifics of Iowa indecent exposure laws.

Code Sections

Iowa Code §709.9: Indecent Exposure

What's Prohibited?

Under Iowa law, a person who exposes the his or her genitals or pubes to a person other than the person's spouse, or who commits a sex act in the presence or view of a third person, commits a crime, if:

  • The person does so to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either party; and

  • The person knows or reasonably should know that the act is offensive to the viewer.


Iowa indecent exposure laws labels this crime as a serious misdemeanor. A conviction for this crime can result in a fine of at least $350 but not more than $1,875. In addition, the court may also order imprisonment not to exceed one year.

Register Sex Offender

A person convicted of violating Iowa indecent exposure laws must register as a sex offender for a minimum of 10 years.

Exposing yourself to others in public is a crime in almost every state in America. Iowa is not an exception. If you have been convicted of lewd, indecent, or obscene acts and would like additional legal assistance, you can contact an Iowa criminal defense lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on indecent exposure and criminal charges for more articles and information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex criminal defense situations usually require a lawyer
  • Defense attorneys can help protect your rights
  • A lawyer can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties

Get tailored advice and ask your legal questions. Many Iowa attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options