The Wheat State has a number of disorderly conduct laws. In Kansas, disorderly conduct includes fighting, disturbing a lawful assembly, and using obscene language.
Kansas also prohibits the unlawful assembly of a group of five or more people for the purpose of committing disorderly conduct or rioting. A riot is defined as five or more people acting together to use or threaten use of unlawful force or violence. This is quick summary of Kansas disorderly conduct laws.
Kansas Disorderly Conduct Laws
The following table outlines the specifics of disorderly conduct laws in Kansas.
||KAN. STAT. ANN § 21-4101
Performing the following acts knowing (or with probable cause to believe) that they will alarm, anger or disturb others, provoke an assault, or otherwise cause a breach of the peace:
- Engaging in fighting
- Disturbing a lawful assembly, meeting, or procession
- Using offensive, obscene, or abusive language
- Engaging in noisy conduct reasonably likely to alarm, anger or cause resentment in others
Five or more people meeting for the purpose of engaging in disorderly conduct or riot or agreeing to engage in such conduct
Remaining at an unlawful assembly:
Refusing to leave from an unlawful assembly after being directed to leave by law enforcement
Five or more people acting together to unlawfully use or threaten use of imminent force or violence which breaches the peace
Incitement to riot:
Urging others to engage in riot through words or conduct under circumstances which produce a clear and present danger of injury to persons or property or a breach of the peace
Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 month in prison and up to $500 in fines.
Unlawful assemby is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.
Remaining at an unlawful assembly and riot are Class A misdemeanors punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.
Incitement to riot is a felony punishable by up to 17 months in prison and up to $100,000 in fines for a person with no prior criminal history. Kansas uses a grid system to determine some prison sentences. This prison time can vary depending upon a person's prior criminal history and the number and type of prior convictions. Incitement to riot is listed on the grid as a severity level 8, person felony.
Kansas Disorderly Conduct Laws: Related Resources
Disorderly conduct laws can be confusing. If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct and would like help, you can contact a Kansas criminal defense attorney. You can also visit FindLaw’s sections on Disorderly Conduct and Public Safety Violations for more articles and information on this topic.