Louisiana Gun Control Laws
Louisiana gun control laws are among the least restrictive in the United States. Machine guns, submachine guns, and weapons with serial or ID numbers intentionally removed are prohibited. Louisiana does not have a waiting period for gun purchases but does have specific requirements for obtaining a concealed carry permit.
The Louisiana Constitution states:
“The right of each citizen to keep and bear arms shall not be abridged, but this provision shall not prevent the passage of laws to prohibit the carrying of weapons concealed on the person."
Learn more about Louisiana gun control laws in the table below. See Details on State Gun Control Laws for more general information.
|Relevant Statutes (Laws)||
Louisiana Revised Statutes:
|Illegal Arms||The following firearms are illegal to possess:
|Waiting Period||There is no waiting period to purchase a firearm in Louisiana.|
|Who May Not Own||People are prohibited from owning a firearm if they have been convicted of, or have been found not guilty by reason of insanity for, a crime of violence that is:
|License Required?||You need a license to purchase a gun in Louisiana.|
|Conceal Carry License Required?||You need a concealed weapon license to carry a concealed firearm.|
|Open Carried Allowed?||Louisiana permits open carry.|
|Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License||To get a concealed carry license, you must:
|Machine Gun Laws||It is unlawful to sell, possess, carry, or transport a machine gun except for exempt persons, including:
|Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession||The penalties for illegally carrying a firearm are:
|Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds||Illegal possession of a firearm on school grounds is punishable by 1 to 5 years imprisonment and up to a $2,000 fine.|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Louisiana Criminal Laws: Related Resources
- Gun Laws
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC
- Louisiana Law
- Second Amendment
Learn More About Louisiana Gun Control Laws from an Attorney
If you would like to know more about Louisiana firearm laws, there are many attorneys throughout the state with criminal defense experience who may be able to help. In addition to helping you with criminal charges, an attorney may be able to help you reclaim unlawfully confiscated firearms and restore an improperly revoked concealed carry license.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.