What to Do After a Truck Accident in Louisiana
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed January 16, 2019
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
You've probably passed your fair share of truck stops on a long drive, but only one, the Tiger Truck Stop near Baton Rouge, houses a Siberian tiger named Tony. While that's sure to wake up the drowsiest of drivers, unfortunately many truckers often drive well beyond their limits usually due to scheduling pressures.
This, along with many other factors, creates increased risks for drivers on Louisiana's roadways especially when you factor in the hazardous materials that can be transported by trucks such as on Highway 167. With dangers like these on the roads, it's even more important for you to know what to do after a truck accident in Louisiana.
Your First Steps at the Scene
Truck accidents usually involve personal injuries as well as a considerable amount of property damage. If you're involved in a Louisiana truck accident, there are some important initial steps you should remember. If you're able, you should immediately call 911 to report the accident and, where possible, render assistance to anyone injured. However, in some situations, moving someone could worsen their injuries and Louisiana law prohibits the removal of deceased persons without authorization from a coroner. Because of this, it's important to seek guidance from emergency responders when providing aid after a truck accident.
Once it's safe to do so, state law requires you to exchange contact, insurance and registration information with anyone else involved in the accident. Louisiana also requires crash reports for any accidents involving:
- Death; or
- Damages in excess of $100.
Failure to make a timely report is actually a crime that can be punished by up to 60 days imprisonment or up to $100 in fines.
Preparing a Case
While the damages resulting from a Louisiana truck accident can be more severe than a regular car accident, the upside is that there are generally more avenues for you to recover your losses. After all, both Louisiana and federal law have stringent regulations that apply to trucking companies, some requiring higher levels of liability insurance and other forms of financial security.
In order to prepare for a successful case, it's important to ensure that a proper accident report is prepared as well as a thorough inspection of any truck involved. Typically a plaintiff will file negligence claims against the truck driver and his trucking company which can be strengthened by evidence from post-crash investigations.
Louisiana Truck Accident Laws at a Glance
You can learn more about specific Louisiana truck accident laws by consulting the chart below.
Louisiana Civil Code Section 154 (rules for accidents resulting in fatalities)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 155 (authorizing police officers and anyone acting under their direction to remove vehicles or cargo from roadways after an accident)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 291 (liability of vehicle drivers and owners for damage to roadways)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 291.1 (requiring reimbursement from vehicle drivers and owners for roadway cleanup after an accident)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 398 (accident reporting requirements)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 651 (requiring owners of heavy equipment to clearly display their names on the equipment transported on roadways)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 1503 (requiring minimum insurance coverage and placards on commercial trucks)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 1510 (special accident reporting requirements for commercial trucks)
Louisiana Civil Code Section 3492 (statute of limitations)
|Statute of Limitations||
Personal Injury: 1 year from the date of the accident
Property Damage: 1 year from the date of the accident
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Louisiana Truck Accident Laws: Related Resources
- Truck Accidents
- Louisiana Car Accident Compensation Laws
- Louisiana Car Accident Settlement Process and Timeline
Get Legal Help with Your Truck Accident Case in Louisiana
It's easy to get overwhelmed when you're trying to rebuild your life after a Louisiana truck accident. Fortunately, there are many different avenues for you to recover for your losses, but the process can get complicated. The best way to learn about your legal options and get some help is to contact a local car accident attorney to discuss the circumstances surrounding your truck accident.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.