Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Maryland Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Who hasn't dreamed of running off with your first crush and getting married? And what parent hasn't worried about a child doing just that? If you're wondering if it can really happen, you're probably curious about what the legal age is to get married in Maryland. The short answer is that it depends on whether the parents have given the kids permission to get hitched. Here's a quick summary of the marriage age requirements in Maryland.

State Marriage Age Laws

Once you turn 18, you can get married with relatively few restrictions. However, there are state marriage age requirement laws that apply to minors. Some states, like Maryland, will allow younger partners with a child (or expecting a child) to get married, and a few states have no statutory age limits. Maryland's marriage age laws require parental consent for minors aged 16 to 17.

Marriage Age Statutes in Maryland

Marriage laws in Maryland are highlighted in the chart below.

Code Section

Fam. Law 2-301

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

Male: 16; Female: 16

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

Male: 18; Female: 18


Minors under 15 yrs. old may not marry. Minors 15 yrs. old may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child with parental consent.

Marriage Requirements

Even the most fairy tale wedding has to jump through a few hoops: the technical marriage requirements and the actual marriage license. Maryland residents must apply for a marriage license at the Circuit Court Clerk in the county in which the marriage will take place. Only one party needs to appear, and must provide full names, a place of residence, ages, states of birth, and social security numbers.

Be aware that if either party was previously married you must provide the date and location of the divorce (or death of previous spouse). The fee is $35, and $5.50 for each certified copy of the marriage certificate. You should check with your local county clerk for any additional requirements, as some counties may require you to pay the fees in cash.

Maryland Marriage Age Requirements Laws: Related Resources

Getting married is a big decision and other state laws on marriage, including Maryland's, can change over time. If you would like legal assistance with a marriage matter, you can contact a Maryland family law attorney. You can also visit FindLaw's section on Getting Married for more articles and resources on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options