Michigan Adverse Possession Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
When someone moves into possession of an otherwise neglected property, improves it, and possesses it in a transparent and public way, they may be able to claim title to the property under the doctrine of "adverse possession." The idea of these laws is to make sure property does not sit idle or otherwise be wasted to the community. Michigan adverse possession laws require a 15-year period of occupation before he or she may claim title to the property.
The main provisions of Michigan's adverse possession law are detailed in the following table. See FindLaw's Land Use Laws section for related articles and resources.
|Code Section||§600.5801, 5851|
|Time Period Required for Occupation||15 yrs.-|
|Time for Landowner to Challenge/Effect of Landowner's Disability||After disability lifted: 1 yr.|
|Payment of Taxes||-|
|Title from Tax Assessor||10 years|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Michigan land use and zoning attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Michigan Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Adverse Possession Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.