Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Michigan Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Some of us have dreamed our whole lives of running off and getting married. Maybe you doodled your first name with your school crush’s last name in your notebook, or vice versa. But if your relationship is more serious than, how old you actually have to be to get married in Michigan? The short answer generally depends on whether or not you have your parents’ permission to get hitched in the first place. State law can vary on this issue, and this article can give you a quick overview of the marriage age requirements in Michigan.

State Marriage Age Laws

While partners who are of age (18 and above in most states) may marry with relatively few restrictions, state marriage age requirement laws apply to minors. Age limit laws typically allow partners with a child (or expecting a child) to get married, but a few states have no statutory age limits. Michigan marriage age requirement laws restrict marriage to those 16 and older with parental consent.

Marriage Age Requirements in Michigan

The following box includes the code section and highlights of Michigan's marriage age requirements.

Code Section

MCLA §551.51 & 551.103; 551.201

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

Male: 16; Female: 16; (consent of 1 of the parents required of both sexes)

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

Male: 18; Female: 18



You might be more worried about flowers, place settings, and the guest list, but the big party might be for naught if you don’t take care of technical marriage requirements and get the actual marriage license. Michigan residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which one of you lives. (Out-of-state residents can still get Michigan marriage licenses, but must add $10 to the license fee.) Each of you must provide photo identification, a certified copy of your birth certificate, and your parents’ names and counties where they were born. If either of you were married previously you must provide the date of the divorce; if it was within the last six months you must provide proof of the divorce. The fee is generally $20, but it is best to confirm this and other payment information with your county clerk.

Michigan Marriage Age Requirements Laws: Related Resources

Michigan’s statutes can change, and they may differ from other state laws on marriage. You can continue your own research by visiting FindLaw's section on getting married for additional articles and resources. You can also contact a Michigan family law attorney and schedule a consultation if you would like more legal assistance.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options