Michigan Marriage License Requirements
If you want to get married in Michigan, you'll need a marriage license. The county clerk's office grants marriage licenses to couples.
If either you or your future spouse is a resident of Michigan, then you must apply for the license in your county of residence, regardless of where in the state the wedding will take place. However, if neither person is a resident, then you'll have to apply for the license in the county where the wedding will occur.
You'll both have to fill out an application, sign it, and pay a license fee. The amount varies depending on the county. You'll have to wait three days to get hitched.
If either person was previously married, he or she must show certified documents on how previous marriage ended such as divorce, annulment, or death.
The following table highlights the main provisions of the Michigan's marriage license requirements. See Marriage Laws Overview, prenuptial agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs for more information.
|Code Section||MCL Chapter 551|
|Where to Obtain a License||County Clerk's Offices|
18 years old, otherwise 16 years old as long as you have parental consent. Your parents must appear with their own identification and if a custodial parent, proof of their custody. If you are 15 or younger, you will need both parental consent and the approval of the probate court.
Valid driver's license or state ID showing current address, birth certificate or valid passport. If passport is used instead of birth certificate, full names of both parents and the state or country where they were born must be provided at time of application.
|Same Sex Marriage||No|
|Blood Test Requirement||
|Fees||Fee vary by county and depends whether you are a resident or non-resident of MI.|
|How Long is the License Valid?||33 days|
|Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?||Ordained minister, magistrate (a civil officer with power to administer and enforce law -- Justice of the Peace), mayor of a Michigan city or a judge. Here is a list of the requirements .|
|Prior Marriage?||If you've been married before, you'll need to present to the court your divorce decree.|
|Waiting Period||Three days. This waiting period does not include the application day|
|Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree||Department of Community Health, Vital Statistics|
Because marriage laws can sometimes get complicated, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced Michigan family law attorney if you have questions about your specific situation.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.