States throughout the U.S., including Minnesota, have criminal trespass laws. These laws make it illegal to go on another person's property without permission or to stay on their property after being told to leave. It's important to note that usually such laws punish those that knowingly or intentionally trespass on another person's property. This means that if a person accidentally or unintentionally goes onto someone else's property, they're aren't necessarily committing a criminal trespass.
Summary of Minnesota Criminal Trespass Laws
There are a variety of resources available when a person has a legal question. While the actual text of a statute is a great source of information, it can be equally important to read a summary of the law as well. In the following chart, you can find both a summary of criminal trespass laws in Minnesota and links to relevant statutes.
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 609. Criminal Code, Section 609.605 (Trespass)
There are a variety of acts that are considered criminal trespass in Minnesota. Here are some examples* of acts that are punishable under Minnesota law:
- Allowing domestic animals under a person's control to go on someone else's land within a city;
- Unlawfully interfering with a sign or monument marked to designate a point of a boundary or of a tract of land;
- Entering a cemetery without authorization while the cemetery is closed to the public;
- Entering someone else's property with the intent to take or injure any fruit, fruit trees, or vegetables growing on the property without permission of the property owner; or
- Returning to someone else's property within one year after being told to leave and not return (if the person doesn't have a claim of right to the property or consent from someone with authority to consent).
*For a full list of prohibited acts, please see the statute.
The charges for criminal trespass are dependent on the circumstances of the trespass, but it's usually charged as a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor. Please see the statute for more details.
A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
A gross misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year of imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of up to $3,000.
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 609. Criminal Code, Section 609.582 (Burglary)
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Minnesota Criminal Trespass Laws: Related Resources
For more information related to this topic, please visit the links listed below.
Arrested for Criminal Trespass in Minnesota? Talk to an Attorney
Although criminal trespass doesn't seem like that serious of a crime in Minnesota, it can still result in fines and imprisonment and can severely impact your livelihood. That's why it's a good idea to consult with a local criminal defense attorney if you're facing tresspass charges, as an attorney can evaluate and challenge any evidence against you and advocate on your behalf.