Minnesota Identity Theft Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
A Summary Minnesota Identity Theft Laws
When someone obtains someone else's personally identifying data, perhaps a Social Security number and date of birth, they can use that to open fraudulent bank accounts and commit other crimes in that person's name. It's most often associated with the Internet, but identity thieves also search through dumpsters and garbage bins for sensitive personal data.
According to Minnesota law: A person who transfers, possesses, or uses an identity that is not the person's own, with the intent to commit, aid, or abet any unlawful activity is guilty of identity theft.
The identity theft statute also lists related offenses, such as using a false pretense to obtain identity and unlawful use of a scanning device or reencoder. Victims of identity theft may initiate a criminal investigation by contacting the local police, while those convicted of identity theft will be ordered to pay restitution of $1,000 to each victim.
Below are additional details about Minnesota's identity theft laws. See FindLaw's Identity Theft section for more in-depth articles and tips to help keep your identity safe.
|Code Section||Minn. Stat. §609.527 (2000)|
|Classification of Crime/Penalties||Identity theft is a criminal offense If single victim, total loss of $250 or less: imprisonment up to 90 days, or fine up to $700, or both; if single victim, total loss more than $250 up to $500: imprisonment up to 1 year, or fine up to $3,000, or both; if two or three victims, or total loss of more than $500 up to $2,500: imprisonment up to 5 years, or fine up to $10,000, or both; if four or more victims, or total loss of more than $2,500: imprisonment up to 10 years, or fine up to $20,000, or both; victim of crime has rights to restitution|
|Who May Prosecute||Any prosecuting authority|
|Exemptions to Identity Theft Laws||-|
|Civil Lawsuit Allowed?||-|
|Civil Remedies Available||Person convicted of identity theft may be ordered to pay restitution of at least $1,000 to each victim.|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Minnesota criminal defense attorney or consumer protection attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Minnesota Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Minnesota Identity Theft Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.