Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Minnesota Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

When we're planning the perfect wedding day, we're not normally thinking about paperwork. But in order for your union to be valid in the eyes of the law, you and your fiancé have some i's to dot and t's to cross in order to meet the Gopher State's marriage requirements and obtain an actual marriage license. Applications for Minnesota marriage licenses can be found and filed at the county court where you reside or where the marriage will take place.

Only one of you needs to file the application, but you must provide full names, ages, social security numbers, and places of birth and current residence for both you and your soon-to-be spouse. If either of you were previously married, you must provide the date and location of the divorce, and may need the divorce decree if the divorce was finalized in the past 30 days.

Application fees depend on whether you and your fiancé attend and provide a certificate of completion for a pre-marital education class. Your best bet is to contact your local county clerk for any additional information and requirements.

Marriage License Requirements in Minnesota

Minnesota's marriage license requirements are highlighted in the following table.

Code Section

MN Statutes §517.08

Where to Obtain a License

County Clerk's Offices

Age Requirements

18 years old, without parental consent;

16 years old, with parental consent.

Residency Requirement


Identification Requirements

Picture ID;

Proof of name, age, and residency of both parties;
Social Security numbers of both parties;

Date and place of birth of both parties;

Proof of marital status of both parties (if either party previously married and divorce finalized in previous 30 days, must have divorce decree).

Same Sex Marriage


Blood Test Requirement



$115 Regular fee; or

$40 Reduced fee if parties attend pre-marital education.

How Long is the License Valid?

6 months

Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?

Any individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is:

A judge of a court of record or a retired judge of a court of record;

A court administrator or a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district;

A former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district;

The residential school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind; or

A licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination.

Prior Marriage?

If you've been married before, you'll need to present to the court your divorce decree if divorced within 30 days from marriage license application.

Waiting Period

5 days from the application day

Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree

County Court Clerk of residence or the county in which the marriage will take place.

Note: State laws are constantly changing, usually as a result of legislation, case law, or ballot initiative. FindLaw works hard to maintain the accuracy of these pages, but you may also want to contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Minnesota Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources

Don't let a missed step in the marriage application process rain on your wedding day parade. You can find additional information and resources on this topic in FindLaw's Marriage Laws Overview, prenuptial agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs.

Have More Questions About Minnesota Marriage Requirements? Ask a Lawyer

Marriage is difficult, but most happy couples will tell you the hard work pays off. Getting married, however, shouldn't be to difficult; however, all couples are different and some unions will require a little extra legal help. If you have questions about Minnesota's marriage license and blood test requirements, or other laws relating to marriage, you may want to talk to a local family law attorney who can answer your questions and guide you through the marriage process.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options