Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Mississippi Car Accident Report Basics

Although it's a common occurrence, every Mississippi car accident brings with it a certain amount of stress and hardship. Whether you caused a major accident driving through Red Bluffs or were rear-ended in Jackson, it's important to know what state law requires of you at the scene of the car crash and afterward. Read on to learn more about Mississippi car accident report basics.

Mississippi Car Accident Report Laws

The first thing to do after a car accident in Mississippi is to stop, pull over, and give reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured. Drivers should exchange information such as their names, addresses, vehicle registration numbers, driver's license, and insurance information. It's also smart to get the contact information for any witnesses, as their observations may be useful later if there's a dispute as to what happened or who is responsible for damages.

If the accident involves injury, death, or damage to property over $500, you must immediately notify local law enforcement by the quickest means of communication possible. The responding officer will conduct an investigation and compile a written report as required by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS). Law enforcement will file this report directly with DPS, so you are not required to submit your own. However, DPS may contact you to file supplemental reports if they think the original report lacks necessary information.

DPS is also responsible for ensuring that drivers involved in an accident were carrying the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state. If you fail to have the requisite amount of insurance, you could face fines or have your license suspended, on top of dealing with the ramifications of your car accident.

Mississippi Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to Mississippi car accident reports, including links to important code sections.


Law Enforcement Notification Required

  • Must notify police if accident involves injury, death, or total property damage to an apparent extent of at least $500, regardless of who is at fault

Report Required

  • No additional report is required unless the Department of Public Safety requests one

Report Deadline

  • Must notify police immediately by quickest means of communication available

Who Must Report

  • The driver involved in the accident
  • If driver is physically incapable of reporting the accident and there was another occupant of the vehicle, the occupant must make the report
  • The DPS may require drivers and witnesses to file additional reports

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Mississippi Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Get Legal Help to Better Understand Mississippi Car Accident Reporting Requirements

Dealing with the ramifications of a car accident can take a lot of time, energy, and money. Whether you're having issues with law enforcement's investigation, battling an insurance company over coverage, or involved in a lawsuit, the whole process can be daunting. Contact a local car accident attorney today to explore your options and ensure you're in compliance with Mississippi car accident reporting laws.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • A lawyer can help seek fair compensation on your behalf
  • Car accident claims are complex and insurance carriers have lawyers on their side

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions about your accident. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options