Montana Compulsory Education Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Children of a certain age range are required to attend school according to compulsory education laws in every state. But parents always have the choice of which type of school is right for their child, whether it's public, private, religious, or home school. Different from truancy laws, which are meant to keep enrolled kids from skipping school, compulsory education laws are targeted toward the parents.
If a parent fails or refuses to enroll their child in school, they may be hit with fines or other sanctions, even jail in some states. Parents who choose to home school their child must provide a similar curriculum (with similar time commitments) of a public school program.
Montana Compulsory Education Laws at a Glance
Montana requires children ages seven through 16 (or having finished the eighth grade) to attend school. Noncompliance can result in fines and jail if the fines are not paid.
Learn more about compulsory education laws in Montana, including exemptions and home school requirements, in the following chart.
|Code Section||20-5-102, et seq.|
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required||Between 7 and the later of attaining 16 or finishing 8th grade|
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements||Enrolled in another district or state; supervised correspondence or home study; excused by district judge or board of trustees; enrolled in nonpublic or home school|
|Non-Public and Home School Requirements||
|Rights and Responsibilities of Parents with Homeschooled Children
|Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance||Fine of $5 to $20; if parent refuses to pay he shall be imprisoned in county jail 10 to 30 days|
Note: State laws are subject to change at any time through the enactment of new legislation, decisions from higher courts, and other means. You may want to contact a Montana education law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Montana Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Montana Compulsory Education Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.