Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Nevada Child Support Guidelines

Divorce in the United States is a common occurrence. When divorce involves children, things tend to become complicated. While most parents want to remain a consistent part in the lives of their children, usually one parent obtains a majority of the child custody after a divorce.

Nevada child support guidelines help determine several post-divorce parental obligations, including the amount of support the parent without physical custody of the child is required to pay. This is a quick summary of the child support guidelines in Nevada.

Joint Custody Under Nevada Child Support Guidelines

Although Nevada statutory laws do not specifically define joint custody, the Nevada Supreme Court ruled that joint physical custody needs to be an option if it is in the best interest of the child. If joint custody is necessary, it is the court's responsibility to determine a timeshare that each parent can equally share with the child. When determining child support for joint custody, both parent's incomes are analyzed, the difference between the two support amounts is calculated, and the higher-income parent is obligated to pay the lower-income parent the difference.

The following table outlines the specifics of Nevada child support guidelines.

Code Sections

Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 125B: Obligation Of Support

Obligations of Parents

Nevada child support guidelines state that the parents of a child have a duty to provide the child necessary maintenance, health care, education and support. Also, they are liable, in the event of the child's death, for any funeral expenses.

Support by Parent Without Physical Custody

When the parents of a child do not reside together, the parent with physical custody of the child may recover a reasonable portion of the cost of care, support, education and maintenance from the parent without physical custody.

Amount of Payments

When determining the amount of child support in Nevada, the parents gross monthly income must be calculated. This gross monthly income is then multiplied by a percentage depending on the amount of children requiring child support. The percentages are as follows:

  • For one child, 18 percent;

  • For two children, 25 percent;

  • For three children, 29 percent;

  • For four children, 31 percent; and

  • For each additional child, an additional 2 percent,

However, not more than the presumptive maximum amount per month per child will be allowed to be awarded to the parent with physical custody.

Understanding the Nevada child support laws can be difficult. If you are dealing with child support issues and would like legal assistance, you can contact a Nevada child support lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on child support and family law for more articles and information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options