Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Nevada Indecent Exposure Laws

While each state defines indecent exposure slightly differently, the crime generally involves the offender exposing his or her genitals in public. Although some acts of indecent exposure (e.g. teenagers flashing their bare bottoms to each other) may seem relatively harmless, indecent exposure in Nevada constitutes a gross misdemeanor that can result in jail time and/or a monetary fine. This article provides a brief overview of Nevada's indecent exposure laws.

Code Section

Nevada Code section 201.220: Indecent or Obscene Exposure

What's Prohibited?

A person who makes any open and indecent or obscene exposure of his or her person, or of the person of another.


First offense: Gross misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to 364 days, and/or by a fine of up to $2,000.

Subsequent offenses: Category D felony, punishable by imprisonment for one to four years, and a fine of up to $5,000.

Sex Offender Registration

Because indecent exposure is a type of sex crime, those convicted of indecent exposure in Nevada may be required to register as a sex offender. For more information check out FindLaw's section on Sex Offenders and Sex Offenses or the Nevada Department of Public Safety's website.

Breast Feeding in Public

In Nevada, a mother breast feeding her child in public doesn't constitute an act of open and indecent or obscene exposure of her body. In other words, breast feeding doesn't constitute an act of indecent exposure in Nevada. In fact, a mother may breast feed her child in any public or private location where the mother is otherwise authorized to be, irrespective of whether the nipple of the mother's breast is uncovered during or incidental to the breast feeding.

Public Urination

Because urinating in public generally involves a person exposing his or her genitals in public, such an act can violate Nevada's indecent exposure law. While local laws prohibit public urination throughout Nevada, if the deed is done in a particularly public place, the offender may also be charged with indecent exposure.

Open or Gross Lewdness

Nevada also has a statute that outlaws open or gross lewdness. The legal definition of "open or gross lewdness" is very broad but generally encompasses sexual acts that are done in public, sexual acts done in a private place where others can still view the act, and nonconsensual sexual acts that fall short of rape.

Additional Resources

State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Nevada's indecent exposure laws contact a local criminal defense lawyer.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex cases usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Sexual assaults & sex crime convictions often have long sentences and lifelong consequences

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options