Nevada Workers' Compensation Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed December 10, 2018
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Nevada is known for its relatively friendly business regulations, causing some companies to flock to the Silver State. While this is good news for the state's economy, workers here are just as susceptible to on-the-job injuries as those in other states. Therefore, the state requires employers to purchase workers' compensation insurance, which covers work-related injuries and illnesses regardless of fault.
So, whether you broke an ankle during your Vegas dance routine, or lost a finger repairing slot machines, you'll need to understand the process for pursuing workers' compensation in Nevada if you've been injured or fallen ill because of your job.
The table below outlines key aspects of the workers' compensation laws in Nevada, including important timelines and some types of benefits.
|Some Types of Benefits||
|Employer Rights & Obligations||
Sick or Injured? See a Doctor and Tell Your Employer
If you've been injured, you should get medical attention and submit a Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease form to your employer within seven days. You have a limited right to choose your own physician, so you should check with your employer at first. If you do get medical treatment or miss work, you must file a claim for compensation within 90 days. The insurance company then has 30 days to either deny your claim or accept it and begin making payments.
What if There's a Problem with My Claim?
In exchange for workers' compensation, you generally give up your right to sue your employer. However, if your claim is denied or there is a dispute regarding benefits, you do have options, including the following:
- Call the insurance claims adjuster and attempt to resolve the issue with them; or
- Request a hearing with a hearing officer within 70 days
If you disagree with the hearing officer's conclusion, you may appeal the decision within 30 days. Many employees choose to have an attorney help with hearings and appeals by preparing evidence, tracking deadlines, and arguing their case.
Injured at Work? Get Help With Compensation From a Nevada Attorney
Workplace injuries and illnesses can cause both physical and financial pain. Workers' compensation benefits can go a long way to alleviating some of that stress, but you'll need to know the state's deadlines and other requirements in order to receive them. Let a Nevada injury attorney familiar with the state's workers' compensation laws help you today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.