New Hampshire Abortion Laws
By FindLaw Staff | Legally reviewed by Nicole Prebeck, Esq. | Last reviewed February 13, 2023
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Abortion is legal in New Hampshire through 24 weeks. Thereafter, abortion is legal only in the case of a medical emergency.
In June 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court overruled Roe v. Wade in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, which returned to the states the power to restrict, even prohibit, abortion. New Hampshire prohibits abortions after 24 weeks, with exceptions in cases involving a fetal anomaly or where the life or health of the mother is at risk.
New Hampshire Abortion Laws: Overview
The following chart contains additional details of abortion laws in New Hampshire, with links to related sources. See FindLaw's Abortion section for additional articles.
|Code Section||New Hampshire Statutes, Title X, section 132:23, et seq.|
|Statutory Definition of Abortion||"Abortion" means the use or prescription of any instrument, medicine, drug, or any other substance or device intentionally to terminate the pregnancy of a female known to be pregnant with an intention other than to increase the probability of a live birth, to preserve the life or health of the child after live birth, or to remove an ectopic pregnancy or the products from a spontaneous miscarriage. (132:32)|
|Protected Access to Clinics ("Buffer Zones")
||No person shall knowingly enter or remain on a public way or sidewalk adjacent to a reproductive health care facility within a radius up to 25 feet of any portion of an entrance, exit, or driveway of a reproductive health care facility (does not include patients or health care workers entering and leaving the facility, or others with legitimate reasons to be there). (132:38)
|Penalty for Unlawful Abortion||-|
|Consent Requirements||Minor must obtain written consent from a parent or guardian at least 48 hours prior to the procedure.
|Residency Requirements for Patients||-|
|Public Funding Available for Abortion?||Yes, in cases of rape, incest, or life endangerment|
Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time through the enactment of newly signed legislation or other means, such as higher court decisions. You should contact a New Hampshire health care attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- New Hampshire Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
New Hampshire Abortion Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.