Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

New Jersey Cocaine Laws

Cocaine and other hard drugs are illegal in all states, with violations often leading to prison time and fines. New Jersey cocaine laws are toughest on drug traffickers, with a 25-year minimum mandatory prison sentence (before parole), while those charged with possession have the opportunity to enter a treatment program if it's the first offense. Selling cocaine to a minor or a pregnant woman can result in double penalties.

The New Jersey judicial system has a drug court program that offers treatment and rehabilitation for non-violent drug offenders with no prior criminal record. Specialized drug court judges work with attorneys, probation officers, treatment professionals, and substance abuse evaluators to encourage recovery and reduce recidivism. Those enrolled in the program receive probation instead of prison, but must submit to regular drug testing and court appearances.

If you have been charged with the sale, trafficking, or possession of cocaine in New Jersey, you should contact a criminal defense attorney licensed in the state who has experience with drug cases. Your attorney may be able to reduce the sentence, have evidence thrown out, or otherwise provide the most favorable outcome possible.

FindLaw's Using a Criminal Defense Lawyer section contains several resources to help you prepare, including an overview of Criminal Defense Strategies.

The following chart provides some details of New Jersey's cocaine laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for additional information.

Code Section 24:21-1, et seq.; 2C:35-2, et seq.
Possession Crime of 3rd degree, $35,000
Sale .5 oz. or less: crime of 3rd degree, $75,000; .5 oz. to 5 oz.: crime of 2nd degree; Over 5 oz.: crime of 1st degree, fixed prison term and $300,000; Selling within 1000 feet of school: fixed prison term and up to $100,000; Selling to minor or pregnant female: double penalties
Trafficking Leader of narcotics trafficking network: life (25 yr. minimum before parole) and/or $500,000

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a New Jersey drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

New Jersey Cocaine Laws: Related Resources

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many New Jersey attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options