Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

New Jersey Security Deposit Laws

States have laws that outline the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants. These laws govern things like when a landlord can raise rent and end a tenancy, as well as when they can keep a tenant's security deposit. When it comes to security deposits, states - including New Jersey - also have laws that set deadlines for returning security deposits as well as limits as to what a landlord can require as a security deposit.

New Jersey Security Deposit Laws at a Glance

Reading the actual text of a law is an important step in legal research, but it can be very helpful to also read an overview of laws since statutes aren't always written for ease of understanding. In the following chart, you'll find an overview of security deposit laws with links to relevant statutes.


New Jersey Statutes, Title 46, Subtitle 2, Chapter 8, Section 46:8-19, et seq. (Security Deposits)

Security Deposit Limits

The security deposit can't be more than one and a half month's rent. If a landlord raises the rent, they can also raise the security deposit, but it can't be more than a 10% increase (in any given year).

Return of the Security Deposit by Landlord

The timeline for when a landlord must return the security deposit depends on the circumstances:

  • 30 days after the tenant moves out if they moved out under normal circumstances.
  • 15 days after the tenant moves out if the tenant ends the lease because they are a victim of domestic violence.
  • 5 days after the tenant moves out if they left the rental unit because of a fire, flood, evacuation, or the condemnation of the property.

Deduction from Security Deposit

A landlord in New Jersey is permitted to keep all or some of the security deposit for:

If the landlord keeps part or all of the security deposit, they must send an itemized list of the deductions within 30 days of the tenant moving out.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

New Jersey Security Deposit Laws: Related Resources

If you'd like additional information and resources related to this topic, please visit the links provided below.

Learn More About New Jersey Security Deposit Laws: Talk to an Attorney

Tenants and landlords each have a variety of rights and responsibilities under landlord-tenant laws. If you have questions about New Jersey security deposit laws, or feel your rights as a tenant or a landlord have been violated, it's a good idea to speak with a local landlord-tenant attorney who can answer your questions and lay out your legal options moving forward.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options