North Dakota Medical Records Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
|Applicable Code Sections
|Who Has Access to Records?
|Patient (if a minor, patient's parent or guardian)
|Requesting Copies: Procedures and Regulations
|A patient may submit a signed authorization requesting a copy of the patient's medical records and/or bills. Upon such request, the provider must provide a copy of the record/bill, and may charge up to $20 for the first 25 pages and $0.75 for pages 26 and beyond for copies provided in paper or facsimile format, or up to $30 for the first 25 pages and $0.25 for pages 26 and beyond for copies provided in electronic, digital, or other computerized format. These charges include any administration or retrieval fee, or postal expense. (23-12-14)
|What Privileges Apply to Medical Records?
|Physicians and psychotherapists (Ev. R. 503)
|Mandatory Reporting Requirements
|Child abuse and communicable diseases designated by Dept. of Health (§§23-07-01; 50-25.1-01)
|Patient Consent and Waiver
|Provisions Related to HIV/AIDS
|Information regarding HIV infection is strictly confidential; release subject to §23-07-02.2)
Note: State laws are not considered permanent and may change at any time, most often through the enactment of newly signed legislation but sometimes through higher court decisions or other means. You may want to contact a North Dakota health care attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- North Dakota Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
North Dakota Medical Records Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.