Ohio Homestead Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
State Homestead Laws in General
State homestead laws allow property owners to register a small parcel of their domicile as a "homestead" and thus off limits to creditors in the event of a bankruptcy. These statutory protections can ease some of the pressure on homeowners who find themselves in dire economic situations, preventing homelessness in some situations. The amount of one's property that may be declared a homestead is based on acreage, value of equity, or both. Federal law also provides homestead protections.
Generally, state homestead protection laws help struggling homeowners in the following three ways:
- They prevent forced sales of one's home as a means to pay off creditors.
- They allow a surviving spouse to have shelter.
- They provide exemptions from property taxes applied to the home.
In order to be considered a "homestead," the property must be the owner's primary residence. In other words, this exemption cannot be applied to a vacation home or second house.
Ohio Homestead Laws at a Glance
Ohio homestead laws allow up to $25,000 worth of a person's property to be declared a homestead and exempted from property taxes. For example, a homeowner with a home valued at $100,000 may deduct up to $25,000 as a homestead, which means they would only have to pay property tax on $75,000 worth of the property. This translates into an average annual savings of $400.
Typically, this exemption is sought out by those in bankruptcy and/or facing foreclosure. But Ohio also extends homestead protections to homeowners who are senior citizens (over 65), disabled persons, or surviving spouses. Fill out Form DTE 105A (PDF) and file it with the county auditor (in the county where the property resides) if you would like to apply.
Learn more about Ohio homestead laws in the chart below, with links to additional resources.
|Max. Property Value That May Be Designated 'Homestead'||$25,000|
|Maximum Acreage (Urban)||-|
|Maximum Acreage (Rural)||-|
Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time, usually when new legislation is enacted but also through the decisions of higher courts and other means. You should contact an Ohio real estate attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Ohio Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Ohio Homestead Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.