Ohio Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
The relationship between landlords and their tenants is regulated at the state level, where laws dictate limits on security deposits and other legal protections for both parties. Leases vary from one landlord to the next, within the constraints of state law, but should contain the following items:
- Name and contact information of landlord (and property manager, if applicable)
- Rent amount; due date; how it should be paid (mailed, placed into a slot, etc.)
- Utilities that are covered by the landlord
- Procedure for reporting needed repairs
- Rules for subletting (if allowed)
- What may result in lease termination, and how to break the lease
- When the lease term begins and ends
According to Ohio's lease and rental agreement laws, deposits must be returned within 30 days of the termination of the lease. Ohio law does not limit how much a landlord may require for a security deposit.
In Ohio, it is strictly against the law to discriminate against tenants or prospective tenants (applicants) on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, ancestry, handicap, national origin, or familial status. This mirrors federal anti-discrimination laws with respect to housing.
The key details of Ohio lease and rental agreement laws are listed below. See FindLaw's Landlord Tenant Law section for more articles and resources, including What Can a Landlord Deduct from a Security Deposit for Cleaning and Repairs? and Security Deposit Basics.
|Code Section||4112.02(H); 5321.01, et seq.|
|Terms of Leases||Presumption that holdover converts to year-to-year term but it is rebuttable (Bumiller v. Walker, 116 N.E. 797 (1917))|
|Deposits||Interest on deposit required at 5% per year if tenant remains in possession 6 months or more and deposit is greater than $50 or one month's rent; deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination. There are no state limits on deposits.|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, religion, sex, ancestry, handicap, national origin, familial status|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Ohio landlord-tenant attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Ohio Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Ohio Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.