Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Oklahoma Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

The idea of marriage may sound romantic to many, but what's not romantic is figuring out just what is required to actually get married. The state of Oklahoma has a few requirements that must be met in order to obtain a marriage license.

In Oklahoma, you must be 18 years of age or older (or have the consent of a parent or legal guardian if between the ages of 16-17) and pay a $50 license fee (reduced to $5 if an appropriate premarital counseling program was completed). There are no residency or blood test requirements. This is a quick summary of Oklahoma's marriage license and blood test requirements.

Oklahoma Marriage License Requirements

The following table outlines marriage license requirements in Oklahoma.

Code Sections OKLA. STAT. §§ 43-1 through 43-11
Where to Obtain a License

Court Clerk Offices

Age Requirements

18 or older with proof of age.

For those ages 16-17, consent of a parent or legal guardian is required along with a birth certificate.

For those under 16 years of age, marriage is prohibited except by court order.

Residency Requirement No.
Identification Requirements

Proof of name and age.

Birth certificate if requiring consent of parents or guardian in addition to affidavits consenting to marriage if parents are not present. If parents are deceased or whereabouts unknown, affidavits are required from three people confirming the above.

Blood Test Requirement No.
Other Requirements Must confirm that you are not related to the person you are to marry. This includes stepfathers and stepdaughters, stepmothers and stepsons, uncles and nieces, aunts and nephews, brothers and sisters, and first cousins. Exceptions only for those whose relation was formed only by marriage.
Same Sex Marriage No.
Fees $50 marriage license fee reduced to $5 if an original certicate is provided showing of completion of an appropriate premarital counseling program.
Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?

Judge or retired judge, ordained or authorized preacher, minister, priest, rabbi or ecclesiastical dignitary who is authorized by their church or synogogue to solemnize marriages and has filed a copy of their credentials with their state of residence or the state where the marriage is to be performed.

Marriage between persons belonging to the society called Friends, the spiritual assembly of the Quakers, Baha'is, or the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, which have no ordained minister, may be solemnized per the assembly's practices.

Prior Marriage Persons divorced in Oklahoma cannot marry anyone other than their previous spouse for 6 months after the divorce decree is filed.
Waiting Period 72 hours for those marrying at ages 16-17.

Oklahoma Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources

Applying for a marriage license can sometimes be daunting. If you want legal assistance with a marriage issue, you may contact an Oklahoma family law attorney. You can also visit FindLaw's Marriage Law Overview, Can Prenuptial Agreements Help You?, Tips for Marriage and Marriage FAQs for more information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options