Oregon Lemon Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
A "lemon" is a new car with serious problems to the point that it is either inoperable or its value has been greatly diminished, which the dealer and/or manufacturer is unable to remedy within a certain time limit. Therefore, state lemon laws hold manufacturers and dealers accountable for new vehicles that fail to live up to their warranty, requiring a refund or replacement. Generally, these laws protect new automobile buyers for a period of around one year (or a specified number of miles, whichever comes first).
Overview of Oregon Lemon Law
Oregon's lemon law is unusual in that it covers new automobile purchases for up to two years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first); most states limit lemon law protections to one year. In order to claim protections under the state's lemon law, you must satisfy the following conditions:
- A part or subsystem of the vehicle under warranty must not be working to the extent that is "substantially reduce[s] the vehicle's use, value, or safety;"
- Each problem has been reported to the manufacturer or dealer, giving them a chance to remedy the problem; and
- At least three attempts have been made to fix the problem or it has been in the shop for more than 30 business days
How to File a Lemon Claim in Oregon
If you believe you are entitled to protections under Oregon's lemon law, you should contact a private attorney to determine your options. You can also check out the Better Business Bureau's Oregon Lemon Law Information page to learn more.
Additional details of Oregon's lemon law are listed below. See FindLaw's Lemon Law section for additional articles.
|Code Section||646A.400, et seq.|
|Title of Act||Trade Regulation: Warranty Regulation and Enforcement
|Definition of Defects||Nonconformity to applicable manufacturer's express warranties which significantly affects the use or market value of vehicle|
|Time Limit for Manufacturer Repair||During period of 2 years following date of original delivery of motor vehicle to consumer or during period ending on date on which mileage reaches 24,000 miles, whichever is earlier|
|Remedies||Replace with new motor vehicle or accept return and refund full purchase/lease price paid, including taxes, license and registration fees, and any similar collateral charges, excluding interest, less a reasonable allowance for consumer's use of vehicle|
Note: State laws are not set in stone and may change as the result of new legislation, court rulings, or other actions. As a precaution, you may also want to contact an Oregon lemon law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Oregon Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Oregon Lemon Law: Related Resources
Was this helpful?
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.