Pennsylvania Pay Day Requirements
In Pennsylvania, federal and state laws govern pay day laws including wage and hour requirements. The major federal law governing wages and hours is called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The major state laws governing pay day requirements is known as Pennsylvania Wage Payment and Collection law. It regulates how much workers must be paid, how many hours they can be required to work, and the special rules that apply to younger workers.
Here, we will focus on the the Pennslvania Wage and Hour Act including pay day requirements (frequency and manner), minimum wages and overtime pay.
Pay Day Requirements: How Often
Pennsylvania employers must pay their hourly employees every two weeks or more frequently depending on the terms of the employment contact.
Method of Payment
An employer may pay wages by cash, check, or direct deposit, so long as the employee consents
What is the Minimum Wage in Pennsylvania?
The minimum wage for employees in Pennsylvania is $7.25 per hour.
When is an Employee Entitled to Overtime Pay?
If an eligible employee works more than 40 hours in a single week, he or she will be entitled to 1 1/2 times their hourly pay rate. Certain workers are exempt from receiving overtime pay such as executives receiving a salary or elected officials.
Is there a Penalty for Failing to Follow Pay Day Laws?
Yes. Failure to pay the legal minimum wage and other violations may result in payment of back wages and civil or criminal action where warranted.
See Fair Wages FAQ, Exempt Employees, and Employees Rights 101 the for more information.
Wage and Hours in the Workplace
1) Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
|Pay Day Requirements||
Employers must pay their non-salaried employees semi monthly or more frequently than semi monthly, unless otherwise stipulated in an employment contract at the time of hire.
|Method of Payment||
Cash, check and direct deposit or payroll debit card
Hourly Employees $7.25 per hour
Tipped Employees: $2.83 per hour
|Overtime Pay||Most employees in Pennsylvania must be paid overtime compensation for any hours they work over 40 straight time hours per week. Overtime compensation is 1 1/2 times the employee's straight time rate of pay.|
|Are Salaried Employees Entitled to Overtime?||Not usually. Some employees are exempt from overtime, such as executive, administrative, and professional employees, as well as supervisors who are employed solely to supervise. Your actual daily job duties and what your employment contract states determine if you are eligible for overtime.|
|Workers Not Covered Under State Minimum Wage Law||
The following employees may still be covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Employers are required to provide break periods of at least 30 minutes for minors ages 14 through 17 who work five or more consecutive hours.
Employers are not required to give breaks to employees 18 and over.
If an employer allows breaks, and they last less than 20 minutes, you must be paid for the break. If your employer allows meal periods, the employer is not required to pay you for your meal period if you do not work during your meal period and it lasts more than 20 minutes.
State employment laws are constantly changing. Please consider contacting a local employment law attorney who can help you better understand current Pennsylvania laws.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.