South Carolina Wage and Hour Laws
Employees are due their wages on payday. If an employer doesn't pay an employee what they are required to receive by law, the employee can file a claim or lawsuit against their South Carolina employer to recoup those wages. Employers can also face fines, penalties, and attorney's fees.
In South Carolina, an employee has a few options:
- They can file a wage claim with the South Carolina Office of Wages and Child Labor.
- They can file an individual suit in court to recover their lost wages.
South Carolina Wage and Hour Laws: The Basics
Note: Employment law is complex and it's almost always a good idea to work with a labor law attorney.
The following summary will help you get up to speed on South Carolina minimum wage, overtime laws, and other related matters.
|State and Federal Statutes||South Carolina Statutes Title 41 Labor and Employment Section 41-1-30 (civil actions)South Carolina follows federal law and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) overtime and exemption provisions.|
|Minimum Wage||The state minimum wage in South Carolina is $7.25, consistent with the federal minimum wage.|
|South Carolina Overtime Law||
South Carolina follows federal labor laws. It does not have its own state laws for overtime. Under federal law, a non-exempt employee must be paid one and one-half their regular rate of pay for any work hours over 40 in any 7-day workweek.
Learn more in our South Carolina overtime law article.
|Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay||The following employees are not covered by South Carolina minimum wage law or overtime law (which follows federal law):
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- South Carolina Law- Information about South Carolina statutes, including those pertaining to criminal, family, employment, and injury law.
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
South Carolina Wage and Hour Laws: Related Resources
- State Pay Day Requirements
- South Carolina Civil Statute of Limitations
- South Carolina Whistleblower Laws
Get Legal Help With Your South Carolina Wage and Hour Concerns
No matter how much love your job, you always count on that paycheck at the end of the workweek or pay period. When South Carolina employers violate the payment of wages and hour laws, they open themselves up to litigation.
If your rights have been violated, you should consider your legal options. Get started today by contacting an experienced South Carolina employment law attorney.
Was this helpful?
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.