In order to get legally married in Utah a couple must have a valid marriage license and have the marriage solemnized. This article provides of a brief overview of Utah's marriage laws and how to obtain a marriage license.
Marriage licenses in Utah are issued by the county clerk where you intend to get married. In order to apply for a marriage license, both parties must be present and provide the following information and documentation to the clerk:
- Full name, address, and date and place of birth of both parties
- Both parties' social security cards (unless a party doesn't have a social security number)
- The names and birth places of both parties' parents (including their mothers' maiden name)
- A valid picture ID for both parties (such as a passport, birth certificate, drivers license, or state ID card), and
- A license fee (most counties charge a fee)
Can a Minor Get Married in Utah?
A minor (a person under 18 years old) can only get married in Utah if they have their parent or guardian's consent. People who are 16 or 17 years old only need consent to get married. However, if you are 15 years old then you need consent and to meet the following requirements:
- The juvenile court must approve the marriage (by concluding that the marriage is voluntary and in the minor's best interest)
- The court may require premarital counseling, and
- The court may impose other conditions on the couple
Minors who have been married before don't need consent if they want to remarry.
Who Can You Marry?
Under Utah's marriage laws, couples that fall under either of the code sections outlined below aren't able to obtain a marriage license.
|Utah Code section 30-1-1: Incestuous Marriages Void
|Marriages between the following people are incestuous and void:
- Parents and children
- Ancestors and descendants of every degree
- Brothers and sisters (half and whole)
- Uncles and nieces, or aunts and nephews
- First cousins (unless both parties are 65 years old or older, or if the court finds that either party is unable to reproduce), and
- People related within and not including the fifth degree of consanguinity
|Utah Code section 30-1-2: Marriages Prohibited and Void
|The following marriages are prohibited and are declared void:
- When one party is already married to someone else (and hasn't obtained a divorce)
- When a party is divorced but the divorce decree isn't final, or
- When one party is a minor and that party's parent or guardian hasn't consented to the marriage
Is there a Waiting Period After Receiving a Marriage License?
Some states require couples to wait a specified number of days between receiving their marriage license and getting married, however most states allow you to get married immediately. In Utah couples can legally get married as soon as they receive a valid marriage license.
Does My Marriage License Expire?
Marriage licenses in Utah are only valid for 32 days. After a marriage license expires the couple simply needs to reapply for another if they still want to get married.
Most states, including Utah, do not require couples to take a blood test before obtaining a marriage license. Blood test requirements use to be more prevalent but now are nearly obsolete.
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Utah's marriage license and blood test requirements contact a local family law attorney.