Vermont Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Maybe you’re a landlord in Essex Junction with some unruly tenants on your hands. Or maybe you’re renting a place in Burlington and can’t get your heat fixed. Either way, knowing your rights and responsibilities under Vermont's leases and rental agreements laws can keep you out of trouble. Here is a brief summary of the laws in Vermont.
Vermont Rental Agreements Laws
Lease and rental agreements are governed by state laws, which define limits on security deposits, time limits for the return of deposits, and other provisions. State leases and rental agreement laws also limit discrimination by landlords.
Vermont laws place no limits on the amount of security deposits, but prohibit discrimination on the basis of having children (in addition to the usual prohibitions on discrimination). Some cities and towns have specific laws that restrict how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit.
Returning a Security Deposit
Generally speaking, your landlord must return your security deposit within 14 days after the tenant has moved out, or within 60 days if the rental is seasonal and not intended as a primary residence. Any damages subtracted from the original deposit amount must be itemized and clearly indicated when the deposit is returned.
The details of Vermont's leases and rental agreement laws are listed in the box below. See FindLaw's Landlord Tenant Law section for additional articles and state-specific resources.
|Code Section||Tit. 9 §4461; 4503|
|Deposits||No limit on deposit; interest on deposit not required; deposit must be returned within 14 days of termination or landlord forfeits right to withhold any of it.|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, sex, sexual orientation, age, marital status, religious creed, color, national origin, handicap, recipient of public assistance, or because person intends to occupy with children; housing for older persons exempted.|
|Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent||Tenants may withhold rent or exercise the right to “repair and deduct” if a landlord fails to take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater.|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
|Terms of Leases||Holdover may convert into year-to-year tenancy; result of legal consequence of conduct of parties and does not depend on tenant's intention (Malaitty v. Carroll Co., 41 A.2d 144 (Vt. 1945))|
Note: State lease and rental laws are constantly changing -- contact a Vermont landlord-tenant law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Vermont Code
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Vermont Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.