Virginia Compulsory Education Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Basics of Virginia Compulsory Education Laws
Children are required to attend formal schooling in all U.S. states, whether it's public school, homeschool, or something else. These compulsory education laws identify the age range within which children must attend school, exceptions to the rule, and penalties against parents or guardians for non-compliance. Virginia compulsory education laws require children between five and 18 to attend school, while non-compliance is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor.
Compulsory Education Laws: Truancy and Aging Out
Children between six and 16 who are not at school during a normal school day -- provided they are not at home with an illness or otherwise excused -- are considered truant. Truant children may be placed in the temporary custody of the police and may be processed in juvenile court. Those who are 16 and older (or, who have "aged out") and decide they no longer want to attend school may opt out, but first must obtain the written permission of a parent or legal guardian.
The basics of Virginia compulsory education laws are highlighted below. See FindLaw's Compulsory Education section to learn more.
|Code Section||22.1-254, et seq.|
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required||Between 5 and 18|
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements||Enrolled in private, parochial, or home instruction or taught by qualified tutor; children suffering infectious diseases; children under 10 living over 2 miles from school unless transportation provided within 1 mile; children 10 to 17 living over 2.5 miles from school unless transportation within 1.5 miles; achieved high school diploma; upon recommendation of court; expulsion or other offense|
|Home School Provisions||Parent must hold baccalaureate degree or be certified teacher or use approved correspondence course or other approved program including standards of board of education for language arts and mathematics; parent must give notice; approved achievement tests or evaluation required|
|Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance||Class 3 misdemeanor|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia education attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law: A general review of the law can help you understand your situation. Take a look at the links below to get started.
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Compulsory Education Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.