Alabama DUI Laws
Driving under the influence (DUI) in Alabama is a serious violation and can result in the loss of driving privileges, heavy fines, and prison time. In fact, a fourth DUI conviction within five years can result in a sentence of between one and 10 years in an Alabama prison and/or a fine of between $4,000 and $10,000. Knowing the law, and your rights, is the first step in getting the best possible outcome after an arrest. Below is a summary of Alabama DUI law, including information about sentences and education programs.
Alabama DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||n/a|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Alabama DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||90 days, 1 year, 3 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||No|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||No|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Alabama Court Referral Programs
There are 29 individual Alabama Court Referral Programs throughout the state, each staffed with Court Referral Officers (CROs) and Juvenile Instructors. The program material ranges from presentations about substance abuse and its effects on driving to in-patient or out-patient substance abuse treatment and lessons in coping with addiction:
- Level 1: 12-hour presentation, including a general orientation into the program; with information about drug/alcohol abuse laws, the effects of certain substances on driving; for students who are determined not to have a substance abuse problem.
- Level 2: 24-hour program involving interaction and active participation; includes information substance usage patterns, family support systems; requires completion of self-help meetings; for those determined or presumed to have a substance abuse problem.
- Youth and Juvenile: 12-hour presentation for those 21 and under who are involved in a substance-related crime and who are considered to be at-risk youth; includes an orientation and information about coping skills, drug and alcoho-abuse laws, and conflict resolution.
- Level 3 (Treatment): This is a referral for substance abuse treatment, which typically includes a mental health evaluation and either in-patient or intensive outpatient programs.
Alabama DUI Resources
- Alabama DUI Statutes: Driving While Under Influence of Alcohol, Controlled Substances, etc. (Alabama Code 32-5A-191)
- DUI Conviction Penalties - Details on DUI penalties from first through forth or subsequent conviction (Alabama Dept. of Public Safety)
- Map of Adult Drug Courts - Map of the 66 counties in Alabama, 61 of which have drug courts (Alabama Court)
- Alabama Motor Vehicle Division - Information pertaining to driver's licenses and vehicle registration (Alabama Dept. of Revenue)
Discuss Questions About Alabama DUI Laws with an Attorney
A criminal charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or other impairing drugs can result in serious penalties, least of which is the suspension of your driver's license. And while even a first offense can get you up to one year in jail, the penalties for subsequent offenses are much more severe. Considering the consequences of a DUI conviction, it's a good idea to reach out to a local DUI attorney if you've been charged with a DUI in Alabama.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.