Arizona DUI Laws
While the blood alcohol content (BAC) limits for motorists are .08 in all states, the punishments vary widely from state to state. Arizona, like Tennessee and Georgia, has mandatory jail time for first offenders. The state also requires anyone convicted of a driving under the influence (DUI) charge to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on their vehicle after a period of license suspension. Understanding the DUI laws in Arizona may help you avoid being charged with the crime; but if you are charged, knowing the law is the first step in protecting your interests.
The following chart lays out the basics of Arizona DUI laws.
Arizona DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.00 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Arizona DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||90 days, 1 year, 3 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||No|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes (mandatory for all convictions)|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Certified Ignition Interlock (IID) Program
If you are convicted of a DUI in Arizona, whether it's your first or fifth such offense, you will be required to equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device (IID) in order to drive. The device prompts the driver to submit a breath sample and will only allow the car to start if there is no trace of alcohol in the sample. Additional breath samples may be required periodically, in order to ensure that the original sample was in fact from the driver.
Arizona law requires motorists who wish to drive after a DUI conviction to apply for a restricted license. Those with IIDs installed on their vehicles are subject to certain restrictions, such as only being permitted to drive to work, doctor appointments, or other vital destinations. Arizona DOT provides a list of approved IID manufacturers and installers.
Arizona DUI Resources
- Arizona DUI Statutes: Driving Under the Influence (ARS Title 2-241; Title 28-1381, 1382 and 1383).
- Ignition Interlock Devices - Information about Arizona's ignition interlock device program (Az. Dept. of Transportation).
- Arizona Driver's License Reinstatement - How to reinstate your driver's license after a suspension (Az. Dept. of Transportation).
- Arizona DUI Prevention - Overview of the enforcement of Arizona DUI laws (Az. Dept. of Public Safety).
- Repeat DUI Offenders - Summary of interventions for repeat DUI offenders (Az. Dept. of Public Safety).
- Arizona DUI Statistics - National and state drunk driving statistics (Az. Dept. of Public Safety).
- Phoenix DUI Blog - Coverage of DUI news and legal developments in Arizona (FindLaw).
Learn More About Arizona's DUI Laws From an Attorney
Whether you've been arrested for a DUI in Scottsdale or Sedona, an Arizona DUI conviction can have lasting consequences on your driving and criminal records. If you have questions about your case, including whether or not you have a viable defense, an Arizona DUI attorney can help you sort it out.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.