Colorado DUI Laws
Your first (and hopefully last) DUI offense in Colorado can cost upwards of $10,000 in fines, court costs, legal fees, probation supervision fees, ignition interlock device (IID) rental, and other fees. But other potential costs of a DUI -- such as life-altering injuries or death -- are not so easy to quantify. While it's quite common to have a couple of drinks before getting behind the wheel, all it takes is one drink too many to get arrested, or worse. Getting yourself up to speed on the DUI laws enforced by Colorado not only will help you avoid committing the offense, but also can help you plan your next steps if you are arrested.
Below are the basics of Colorado DUI law, including common penalties, blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, and license suspension information.
Colorado DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.17 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Colorado DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||9 months, 1 year, 2 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||No|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes (mandatory for 2nd offense)|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) and Restricted Licenses in Colorado
If you have been convicted of a DUI or have refused to submit to a BAC test after being stopped for suspicion of impaired driving, you may be required to have an IID installed on your vehicle. IID's require the driver to submit a breath sample, which the device then analyzes for traces of alcohol, before the engine will be allowed to start. In some instances, you may be eligible for financial aid to help pay for IID rental.
Colorado DUI Resources
- Colorado DUI Statutes: Driving Under the Influence (search for CRS 42-4-1301)
- Colorado Drunk Driving Laws - Overview of Colorado DUI laws (PDF, Co. Office of Legislative Legal Services).
- Ignition Interlock Restricted License - Information about Colorado's IDD restricted license program (Co. DMV).
- Approved Ignition Interlock Vendors - List of authorized IDD vendors in Colorado (Co. DMV).
- Process to Reinstate Driving Privilege - How to reinstate your driver's license after a suspension (Co. DMV).
- Alcohol and Drug Classes and What You Should Know About Them - Printable brochure about the different drug and alcohol classes that may be ordered after a DUI conviction in Colorado (Co. DMV).
Learn More About Colorado DUI Laws by Speaking with an Attorney
There are some legal issues you can handle on your own, but DUI charges often require the skilled touch of a seasoned DUI attorney. Even if you have few or no defenses to the actual charges, an attorney can advocate on your behalf and help you achieve the best possible outcome. Learn more about your legal options by contacting a DUI attorney in Colorado today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.