Connecticut OUI Laws
While most states refer to drunk or impaired driving charges as "driving under the influence" (DUI) or "driving while intoxicated" (DWI), Connecticut calls it "operating under the influence" or simply "OUI." But whichever acronym you use, driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is a serious crime with stiff penalties. In Connecticut, for instance, all motorists are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) after an OUI conviction before full driving privileges will be restored. After a third or subsequent OUI offense, drivers can have their license revoked permanently (subject to a hearing request after two years of revocation). Those under 21 face even tougher penalties for driving under the influence.
The following charts and links will help you better understand Connecticut's OUI laws and regulations.
Connecticut OUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.16 Percent|
to Submit to BAC Test?
Connecticut OUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation
(1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)
|45 days (plus 1-yr. IID), 45 days (plus 3-yr. IID), permanent|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both (2nd offense)|
|Ignition Interlock Device
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Penalties for Under-21 OUI Offenders
As in other states, Connecticut has very strict penalties for minors who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. For instance, motorists under 21 whose blood alcohol concentration is measured at 0.02 or higher will have their license suspended for one year, followed by a one-year IID requirement, for the first offense. A second offense can result in a three-year suspension.
Connecticut IID Program
You will be required to have an IID installed on your vehicle as a condition of driving (with a limited license) in Connecticut for the following offenses:
- Failure or refusal of a BAC test
- Operating under the influence (OUI) of alcohol or other drugs
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Vehicular assault
Connecticut OUI Resources
- Connecticut OUI Statutes: Operation While Under the Influence (GSC section 14-227a).
- Connecticut DUI Law - Extensive review of the state's DUI laws (Conn. General Assembly).
- Connecticut's Drunk Driving Law - Overview of Connecticut DUI laws (Conn. DMV).
- Ignition Interlock Device Program Overview - Information about the state's IID program (Conn. DMV).
- Driver's License Reinstatement - How to get your driver's license reinstated after a suspension (Conn. DMV).
- DUI Basics - A good place to start for general information on impaired driving charges, with information about the elements of the crime and more.
Don't Face OUI Charges Alone: Get Help From an Attorney
The law can be quite complicated, particularly when criminal charges are involved. If you have been charged with a OUI in Connecticut, keep in mind that you may be facing more than just fines. An experienced attorney will protect your interests and help you get the best outcome possible, including the avoidance of jail time in some instances. Get started today and find a Connecticut OUI attorney near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.