Maine OUI Laws
Maine, as do most states, takes impaired driving very seriously and imposes relatively strict license suspensions (among other penalties) for offenders. For instance, a first offender faces a 150-day suspension, while someone convicted of their second offense faces a three-year suspension. In addition, even first offenders are required to spend at least 48 hours in jail in most instances. And while the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) is an option in Maine, motorists who wish to take advantage of the program must complete a relatively lengthy suspension period first.
Learn more about Maine's operating under the influence (OUI) laws below.
Maine DUI (OUI) Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.00 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Maine DUI (OUI) Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||90 days /18 months / 4 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Ignition Interlock Device Program
Maine motorists who have had their driver's license suspended as a result of being convicted of an alcohol-related offense (typically OUI) may have their licenses restored early with the installation of an IID. Qualified individuals must fill out and file a petition for early reinstatement to be considered, and are required to have the device installed for the remainder of their suspension period. Early reinstatement times are listed below:
- First Offense: After 30 days of the 150-day suspension
- Second Offense: After 9 months of the 3-year suspension
- Third Offense: After 3 years of the 6-year suspension
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense: After 4 years of the 8-year suspension
Maine DUI (OUI) Resources
- Maine DUI (OUI) Statute: Operating Under the Influence (Me. Rev. Stat. 29 2411).
- Maine OUI Laws Explained - Breakdown of OUI offenses in Maine, including penalties (Maine Bureau of Highway Safety).
- Maine OUI Driver Education - Website of the Driver Education and Evaluation Programs For OUI Offenders (D.E.E.P.) (Maine Office of Substance Abuse).
- Administrative License Suspension - Administrative suspension length for various Maine OUI offenses (Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles).
- Ignition Interlock - Basics on Maine's ignition interlock program (Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles).
- Maine OUI Factsheet - Highlights of Maine OUI laws, BAC limits and drinking ages over the years (Maine Bureau of Highway Safety).
- What are the OUI Laws in Maine? - Additional information about impaired driving law in Maine, including penalties and links to related resources (FindLaw).
- DUI Law - Articles and resources, including state-specific information, to help you understand impaired driving laws and procedures (FindLaw).
Get Help From an OUI Attorney
No matter where you live or happen to be visiting, drunk driving is considered a serious crime. At worst, driving impaired can cost you your life or the lives of others in your vicinity. At best, though, a conviction will cost thousands in fines, court costs, and legal fees; a lengthy suspension; and often jail time. Make sure your rights are protected and that you get the best possible defense by reaching out to a Maine OUI attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.