Oklahoma DUI Laws
What do Tulsa, Broken Arrow, Lawton and Norman all have in common? Like other places in Oklahoma, none of them tolerate drinking alcohol or doing drugs and driving a motor vehicle. A driver who is discovered to be impaired will be charged with a driving under the influence (DUI) offense. Learning about Oklahoma DUI laws may help you avoid committing this offense, and if you've already been charged, assist you in planning your next steps.
Below are the basics of Oklahoma DUI law, including blood alcohol concentration limits and common penalties for the offense.
Oklahoma DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.00 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Oklahoma DUI Laws: Some Penalties
|Typical License Suspension
(1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)
|30 days, 6 months, 1 year|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Assessment & Treatment|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes (certain circumstances)|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
Ignition Interlock Devices and Restricted Licenses in Oklahoma
If you've been convicted of a DUI or have refused to submit to a blood alcohol concentration test after being stopped for suspicion of impaired driving, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. These devices are essentially "breathalyzer" machines that control the ability to start the car. If your breath sample reveals that it would be unsafe for you to be behind the wheel, the vehicle's ignition is disabled.
Oklahoma DUI Resources:
- Oklahoma DUI Statutes: Driving While Intoxicated (OS 11-902).
- DUI - Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course - Overview of DUI classes in Oklahoma (Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services).
- Ignition Interlock Device - Information about the state's IID program (Oklahoma Board of Tests for Alcohol and Drug Influence).
Your first (and hopefully last) DUI offense in Oklahoma can cost thousands of dollars in fines, court costs, legal fees, ignition interlock device rental, and other fees. But other potential costs of a DUI -- such as life-altering injuries or death -- can't be quantified in dollars and cents. While it's not uncommon for people to have a couple of drinks before getting behind the wheel, all it takes is one drink too many to get arrested, or worse.
Discuss Your Oklahoma DUI Laws Questions with an Attorney
If you've been arrested for a DUI in Oklahoma, you likely have questions about the law, whether you should try to fight the charges, and more. With the help of a skilled DUI attorney, you stand a stronger chance of getting a reasonable outcome in your case. Contact an experienced DUI attorney in Oklahoma and get started on your case today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.