Rhode Island DWI Laws
Whether in driving your car in downtown Providence, Rhode Island's capital city, or cruising down the open road on your new motorcycle in Cranston, Rhode Island has some tough laws when it comes to drinking alcohol or taking illegal substances and operating a motor vehicle. Simply put, drinking and driving is never a good idea. It puts other drivers and pedestrians at risk, in addition to gambling with your own life.
However, we all make mistakes, and if you do find yourself arrested and facing a driving under the influence (DUI) related charge in Rhode Island, we've assembled some important information for you to consider.
Penalties for a Rhode Island DUI Conviction
There are a number of serious penalties that await you if you've been convicted of a DUI in Rhode Island. First and foremost, you'll have your license suspended. If you have multiple DUI convictions from the past or if you've refused a chemical test at the request of a police officer, you'll lose your license for even longer. You'll also be required to pay a fine, be on probation for a period of time, and you may face jail time. In addition to that, you'll have to attend a driver safety course.
The sentencing judge will also look at your blood alcohol level (BAC) to determine your level of punishment. Typically, a BAC of 0.08 to 0.10 is a misdemeanor offense and can carry up to a one year jail sentence. Additionally, your license can be suspended for anywhere between 30 days to 18 months depending on the facts of the case.
Rhode Island Zero Tolerance Laws
If you are under the age of 21 years old, the legal limit is even lower for you. If your blood alcohol level is 0.02 percent or more at the time of driving, you'll face a license suspension,
Below you will find information about Rhode Island DUI laws.
Rhode Island DWI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Rhode Island DWI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||2-18 months, 1- 2 years, 2 year minimum|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes (3rd aggravated offense)|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes|
Rhode Island DWI Resources:
- Rhode Island DWI Statutes: Driving Under the Influence of Liquor or Drugs (R.I. Gen. Laws 31-27-2 to 31-27-3.1).
- Ignition Interlock Systems - Overview of Rhode Island's ignition interlock program (R.I. DMV).
Get Professional Legal Help With Your DWI: Contact a Lawyer
If you are unlucky enough to be facing a Rhode Island DWI, your situation isn't without hope. But in order to secure the best possible outcome, it's a good idea to have a qualified attorney review you case and advise you on the law and possible outcomes of the situation. Get started today and reach out to a Rhode Island DWI attorney near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.