South Dakota DUI Laws
Whenever you are drinking alcohol, whether sipping wine at a dinner party in Sioux Falls, or drinking beers and sight-seeing at Mt. Rushmore, having a designated driver is the best way to avoid a run-in with South Dakota law enforcement. In South Dakota, it is a crime to drive a motor vehicle if you are under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more. It is also a crime to drive while taking illegal or prescription drugs if it is impacting your ability to safely operate your car or motorcycle.
If you do find yourself arrested and charged with a DUI in the “Mount Rushmore State,” FindLaw has compiled some important information to assist you with your case.
Implied Consent: It is the Law
If you’ve been pulled over by a police officer, and he or she suspects you of being impaired by drugs or alcohol, you will be asked to perform some simple roadside tests to determine if you are physically impaired by intoxicating substances. These field sobriety tests (FST), are done at the scene of the traffic stop. Once the field sobriety tests are complete, the officer may require you to take a blood or breath test to determine your actual level of intoxication.
Known as “implied consent,” you are required to submit to this chemical test in South Dakota if an officer asks. If you choose not to take it, your driver’s license will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a period of time. And, in case you were wondering, an officer can still arrest you for a DUI without the chemical results if he or she believes you were still intoxicate based on your driving pattern, performance on the FSTs, and other factors.
Here is more information about South Dakota DUI Laws:
South Dakota DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.17 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
South Dakota DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||30 days, 1 year, 2 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Discretionary|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes|
South Dakota DUI Resources:
- DUI Statutes: Driving Under the Influence (S.D. Codified Laws Chapter 32-33).
- DUI FAQs - Answers to commonly asked questions about drunk driving in South Dakota (S.D. Dept. of Public Safety).
- South Dakota 24/7 Sobriety Program - Details and rules of the alcohol monitoring program for chronic DUI offenders (S.D. Office of the Attorney General).
- Department of Public Safety: Drivers Licensing - Official site of the state office overseeing drivers licenses (S.D. Dept. of Public Safety).
- DUI and Employment Background Checks,
- Commercial DUI Regulations,
- Having Your Car Impounded After a DUI.
Get Legal Help from an Experienced DUI Attorney
Drinking alcohol and driving never mixes. However, if you have been arrested in South Dakota, you’ll want to consider your options. A great first step is to speak with an experienced legal professional who can analyze the facts of your case and help mount the best possible defense. Get started today and speak with a South Dakota DUI attorney near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.