Wyoming DUI Laws
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or other substances is dangerous and can result in bodily harm or death to yourself, passengers, and other motorists. That is why the DUI laws in Wyoming -- as in other states -- are quite strict and impose stiff penalties for offenders. While it's very rare, a first offense can result in a maximum jail sentence of six months. A fourth or subsequent offense, meanwhile, can result in a maximum two-year jail sentence. In all cases, your license will be suspended for a specified period of time.
Learn more about the DUI laws and penalties in Wyoming below.
Wyoming DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|"Per Se" BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.15 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Wyoming DUI Laws: Select Penalties
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (1st, 2nd, 3rd offense)||90 days / 1 year / 2 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||No|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes|
Note: State laws are always changing through legislative, judicial, or other means. While FindLaw works hard to ensure the accuracy of its legal resources, it's a good idea to thoroughly research the law or check with an attorney to make sure you have the most recent information.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle as a condition of your sentence. These devices require you to submit a valid breath sample by blowing into a tube before the car will start. Installation of an IID is required for the following DUI offenses:
- First offense with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher (duration: six months)
- Second offense (duration: one year)
- Third offense (duration: two years)
- Fourth and subsequent offenses (duration: lifetime, but you may appeal the court after five years)
Wyoming DUI Resources
- DUI Statute: Driving while under the Influence (search for Wyo. Stat. 31-5-233).
- Drug and DUI Court - Overview of Wyoming's drug court system, designed to help break the cycle of addiction and drug or alcohol offenses (State of Wyoming).
- Ignition Interlock - Overview of Wyoming ignition interlock program (Wyoming Dept. of Transportation).
- Ignition Interlock / Suspension Forms - Downloadable forms for applying for an IID, restricted license, and other related matters (Wyoming Dept. of Transportation).
- Requirements for Reinstating Your Driving Privilege - How to get your driver license reinstated in Wyoming (Wyoming Dept. of Transportation)
- Certified Counselor and DUI Class Provider List - Information about DUI class and treatment centers (Wyoming
- What are Wyoming's DUI Laws? - Additional information about Wyoming's impaired driving laws, including penalties and license suspensions (FindLaw).
Get Legal Help with Your DUI Case in Wyoming
It can be quite stressful trying to figure out your next steps after being arrested and charged with a DUI. And if it's your second offense within 10 years, Wyoming law requires a minimum jail sentence of seven days and as much as six months. How your case plays out will largely depend on your legal defense, which is why you should contact a DUI attorney in Wyoming who can make all the difference.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.